Masi Corvina Blend Veronese IGT Campofiorin 2008

Winemaker's Notes:

The happy result of an intuitive experiment, this was created by Masi in 1964 from Corvina, Rondinella and Molinara grapes. It is a classic 'Supervenetian Red' that demonstrates the excellence of its terroir, the outstanding character of local grapes and the uniqueness of the production method.

  • + My Wines

    My Wines

    Save in My Wines

    Add to Wishlist

    My Cellar

  • + List It
  • + Critic Score

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
2.97 5 0.5
Average Rating Rate It Add
MASI:
The Boscaini family have been the owners of the Masi vineyards for six generations. Sandro Boscaini is the company president. The other members of the family involved are Sandro's children: Alessandra and Raffaele, and his brothers: Bruno who looks after the production processes, and Mario who is a sleeping partner in the company.

Member Reviews for Masi Corvina Blend Veronese IGT Campofiorin

Add your review
Snooth User: mikespeer
10741941,196
0.00 5
05/18/2012

nice bold wine...nice big fruit finish with good balance of acidity and tannins


Snooth User: NiagaraWiner
584182488
3.00 5
11/23/2011

A dark burgundy coloured wine. Sweet at first taste with an noticeable tart aftertaste. I found this wine quite medicinal in its flavour with a syrup-like finish on the palette.


Snooth User: toothpicks
695380302
3.00 5
10/16/2011

I find this a reliable wine which reminda me of Amarone. Smooth,silky feel with deep cherry fruits. Finishes full enough, a nice value.


Snooth User: Betina Foreman
115284816
5.00 5
10/24/2012

Masi has been making wine since 1964 and while a young vineyard they use old world techniques to create a brilliant wine. This is one of the finest and most consistent set of wines I have tasted from Masi, one of the historic names in Veneto. It is bold without being overbearing, a deep ruby red color with sweet spiced cherry and berry nose, this goes well with steaks, pork or cabrito and any number of veggie dishes or pasta. for more info on Masi wines check them out at www.MASI.it. In the USA I have seen prices for Masi wines from $50-250. The Amarone's are at the high end, and it is usually worth every penny.


Snooth User: drsint
1424482,804
3.00 5
12/01/2012

Three glasses


External Reviews for Masi Corvina Blend Veronese IGT Campofiorin

External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
01/03/2012

The 2007 Campofiorin is an intense wine packed with dark jammy fruit, mocha, chocolate, spices and leather. This especially dense, entry-level bottling shows excellent length and a round, suave finish with no hard edges. Anticipated maturity: 2011ndash;2014. This is one of the finest and most consistent set of wines I have tasted from Masi, one of the historic names in Veneto.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
01/03/2012

The 2004 Campofiorin made from a blend of indigenous varieties. This bottling sees a second fermentation on the lees of the estatersquo;s Amarone, a method known as ripasso, which is designed to give the wine more complexity and body. A medium-bodied red, the wine reveals pretty notes of red fruit intermingled with smoke, tobacco, herbs and leather. Anticipated maturity: 2008ndash;2011.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
09/27/2011

Lots of raisin, berry and leather aromas and flavors. Medium- to full-bodied, with fine tannins and a lively finish. A bit rustic, but delicious. Drink now through 2005.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
09/27/2011

A well-balanced red, with vivid wild strawberry aromas and flavors. Very smooth on the palate, with medium body, light tannins and a medium, fruity finish. Drink now through 2004.


External Review
07/09/2012

Sattes Kirschrot. Konzentriert fruchtig, reife Dörrfrüchte und Rosinen im Bouquet. Auffallend auch der dezente Kirschduft. Im Gaumen herrlich weich, samtartiger Fluss und schön eingebettes Holz. Ein Wein mit der Süffigkeit und Eleganz eines Valpolicella und der Kraft und Fülle eines Amarone.


External Review
05/31/2011

Intensive Frucht und Würze, inhaltsvoll und ausgewogen, sehr langlebig.


External Review
03/31/2013

Deep ruby colour, with a purple touch on the rim. The perfumes are very clean, with ripe fruit, raisins and spicy aromas, mainly cinnamon.


1 2 3 4


All Prices

Shipping to:

The happy result of an intuitive experiment, this was created by Masi in 1964 from Corvina, Rondinella and Molinara grapes. It is a classic 'Supervenetian Red' that demonstrates the excellence of its terroir, the outstanding character of local grapes and the uniqueness of the production method.

Best Wine Deals

See More Deals »







Snooth Media Network