• WS: 91

    Wine Spectator Score

    91

    Close

L'Ecole 41 Walla Walla Valley Merlot 2000

Winemaker's Notes:

Variety: 75% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Sauvignon, 6% Cabernet Franc This wine is a blend of two distinguished Walla Walla Valley vineyards: 86% Seven Hills Vineyard (Merlot 61%, Cabernet Sauvignon 19%, Cabernet Franc 6%) and 14% Pepper Bridge Vineyard Merlot. Winemaker Comments: “This Walla Walla Valley wine allowed us to blend the soft texture and finesse of Seven Hills Vineyard, with the bright fruit and complexity of Pepper Bridge. A touch of Cabernet Franc adds a heightened array floral aromatic notes to the wine.” Harvest: A mild warm spring led into a beautiful summer with higher than normal heat unit accumulation, culminating in an early veraison. As hoped, fall brought cooler weather slowing fruit maturity and allowing for extended hang time into October. The 2000 vintage has delivered outstanding wines with excellent color and fruit extraction and well-balanced flavors and acidity. Technical: The components of this wine were hand-harvested as follows: Pepper Bridge Merlot 9/28/00 25.0% Brix, 3.60 pH, 0.59 g/100 ml Seven Hills Merlot (avg.) 9/20/00 24.4% Brix, 3.28 pH, 0.63 g/100 ml Seven Hills Cabernet (avg.)10/6/00 23.4% Brix, 3.28 pH, 0.59 g/100 ml Seven Hills Cab Franc 9/28/00 24.4% Brix, 3.43 pH, 0.56 g/100 ml Bottled 764 cases February 26th, 2002; pH 3.70, acid 0.58 g/100ml, 13.9% alcohol by volume, <0.2% residual sugar. Description: Cascading aromas of spicy cinnamon, nutmeg, orange peel and cranberry meld flawlessly with the intense bright fruit flavors of black cherry, plum and smoky notes on a long balanced finish. Vinification: Each lot was harvested ripe and gently crushed into one-ton stainless steel fermenters. The must was inoculated with yeast and punched down by hand during fermentation to maximize fruit extraction. When fermentation was complete or we were otherwise satisfied with the level of tannin and flavor extract the must was gently pressed. After settling, the wine was racked to oak barrels (50% new). The wine was barrel-aged 17 months with five rackings and the final blend was bottled unfined and unfiltered to preserve its natural flavors.

Vintages


+ Vintage
Winery: L'Ecole No 41  
Color: Red
Varietal: Merlot
  • + My Wines

    My Wines

    Save in My Wines

    Add to Wishlist

    My Cellar

  • + List It
  • + Critic Score

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
3.6633333333333 5 0.5
Average Rating Rate It Add
L'Ecole No 41:
L'Ecole Nº 41 has been producing premium, handcrafted varietal wines in the Walla Walla Valley since 1983 in the historic Frenchtown School in Lowden, Washington. Within this web site you will discover: Our rich history and longevity in making wines in the Walla Walla Valley Our dedication to making premium varietal wines from some of Washington's finest vineyard sites Our commi... Read more
L'Ecole Nº 41 has been producing premium, handcrafted varietal wines in the Walla Walla Valley since 1983 in the historic Frenchtown School in Lowden, Washington. Within this web site you will discover: Our rich history and longevity in making wines in the Walla Walla Valley Our dedication to making premium varietal wines from some of Washington's finest vineyard sites Our commitment to superior vineyard management and environmentally sustainable vineyard practices Our desire to provide our valuable customers with a unique, quality experience year after year Thank you for the opportunity to share our story. Read less
Suggested Recipe Pairing presented by
Layered Rice Pudding

RiceSelect's fragrant Jasmati® is blended with eggs, milk and fall's favorite spices, cinnamon and nutmeg, to create a delicious rice pudding, which is layered on top of fluffy cream cheese and abuttery pecan crust. Pairs well with a bold, tawny port with flavors of dried fruits, nuts, and spices.

View Recipe

Member Reviews for L'Ecole 41 Walla Walla Valley Merlot

Add your review
Snooth User: monty1
32797136
4.00 5
10/18/2007

Drank in 2007. Open, forward. Wonder black fruits with a touch of earth - this wine expressed the terrior of Walla Walla. Full bodied and went the distance.


Snooth User: walkin1979
9770631
5.00 5
12/01/2008

Five glasses



Variety: 75% Merlot, 19% Cabernet Sauvignon, 6% Cabernet Franc This wine is a blend of two distinguished Walla Walla Valley vineyards: 86% Seven Hills Vineyard (Merlot 61%, Cabernet Sauvignon 19%, Cabernet Franc 6%) and 14% Pepper Bridge Vineyard Merlot. Winemaker Comments: “This Walla Walla Valley wine allowed us to blend the soft texture and finesse of Seven Hills Vineyard, with the bright fruit and complexity of Pepper Bridge. A touch of Cabernet Franc adds a heightened array floral aromatic notes to the wine.” Harvest: A mild warm spring led into a beautiful summer with higher than normal heat unit accumulation, culminating in an early veraison. As hoped, fall brought cooler weather slowing fruit maturity and allowing for extended hang time into October. The 2000 vintage has delivered outstanding wines with excellent color and fruit extraction and well-balanced flavors and acidity. Technical: The components of this wine were hand-harvested as follows: Pepper Bridge Merlot 9/28/00 25.0% Brix, 3.60 pH, 0.59 g/100 ml Seven Hills Merlot (avg.) 9/20/00 24.4% Brix, 3.28 pH, 0.63 g/100 ml Seven Hills Cabernet (avg.)10/6/00 23.4% Brix, 3.28 pH, 0.59 g/100 ml Seven Hills Cab Franc 9/28/00 24.4% Brix, 3.43 pH, 0.56 g/100 ml Bottled 764 cases February 26th, 2002; pH 3.70, acid 0.58 g/100ml, 13.9% alcohol by volume, <0.2% residual sugar. Description: Cascading aromas of spicy cinnamon, nutmeg, orange peel and cranberry meld flawlessly with the intense bright fruit flavors of black cherry, plum and smoky notes on a long balanced finish. Vinification: Each lot was harvested ripe and gently crushed into one-ton stainless steel fermenters. The must was inoculated with yeast and punched down by hand during fermentation to maximize fruit extraction. When fermentation was complete or we were otherwise satisfied with the level of tannin and flavor extract the must was gently pressed. After settling, the wine was racked to oak barrels (50% new). The wine was barrel-aged 17 months with five rackings and the final blend was bottled unfined and unfiltered to preserve its natural flavors.

Recipe Downloader

RiceSelect

Best Wine Deals

See More Deals »

Merlot Top Lists








Snooth Media Network