La Crema Pinot Noir 2006

Winemaker's Notes:

Notes on the La Crema Pinot Noir Russian River 2006 : WINEMAKER NOTES: Our goal is to truly capture the Russian River terroir in the glass. The 2006 vintage gave us aromas of black cherry with hints of sassafras, clove and subtle dried herbs. The flavors center on dark lush fruit and spice, which provide rich texture, broad, structured tannins and a lingering, juicy finish. - Melissa Stackhouse, La Crema WinemakerLA CREMA PINOT NOIR RUSSIAN RIVER 2006

  • + My Wines

    My Wines

    Save in My Wines

    Add to Wishlist

    My Cellar

  • + List It
  • + Critic Score

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
3.47 5 0.5
Average Rating Rate It Add
La Crema Winery:
La Crema was founded in 1979 and quickly established itself as a pioneer for intensely flavored Chardonnay and Pinot Noir from cool climate. Continuing this tradition, La Crema pursues the ultimate expression of the Russian River Valley, Carneros and Anderson Valley by handcrafting wines of distinctive flavor which achieve elegance and balance. The La Crema Winery itself is not open to the p... Read more
La Crema was founded in 1979 and quickly established itself as a pioneer for intensely flavored Chardonnay and Pinot Noir from cool climate. Continuing this tradition, La Crema pursues the ultimate expression of the Russian River Valley, Carneros and Anderson Valley by handcrafting wines of distinctive flavor which achieve elegance and balance. The La Crema Winery itself is not open to the public, however we encourage you to visit our beautiful new Tasting Room located in Healdsburg, California - the heart of Sonoma County Wine Country. Read less

Member Reviews for La Crema Pinot Noir

Add your review
Snooth User: John Andrews
361063,418
3.50 5
04/08/2009

Interesting Pinot. Generally, I don't like Carneros Pinots but this has a nice earthy aroma that gives way to red cherry. Good acidity (seems the typical for the 06), some earth and layers of red fruit. Yummy.


Snooth User: treysmall
14018037
3.50 5
02/27/2009

Great rich color - light red. Good ripe fruit in the nose - cherry, plum. Good structure, decent tannins. Cherry is somewhat sour in the mouth, with a bit of bitterness (winemaker says tea, I would say tobacco). I would call this a classic Sonoma Pinot Noir. Has a long finish - sticks with you for a while.

User Tags:

cherry
  • plum

  • Snooth User: coreyod
    27488114
    4.00 5
    03/24/2010

    Excellent 'everyday' Pinot Noir; creamy with Blackberry. Not very complex, but very enjoyable - especially for the price.


    Snooth User: robcan303
    12892712
    4.00 5
    01/29/2009

    We've had this wine as a staple in our case for a few years, now. It is very fruity with a bit of a bite towards the finish. We've found it for as little as $18 in town. Pairs nicely with herb chicken and lighter beef dishes.


    Snooth User: Salmanazar127
    443379
    3.50 5
    02/26/2008

    A good wine. Delicate but acidic. Not very complex or sweet. Some tannins.


    Snooth User: Cellar
    1163935
    3.50 5
    01/04/2009

    Good stuff. Plum and cherries. Pretty complex for a thin and delicate wine. Small tannin pucker at finish. Probably best just to sip, not bad with a ham and cheese sub.


    Snooth User: shsim
    10326661,287
    3.50 5
    07/15/2012

    This was part of a Sonoma County trip to Healdsburg/Russian River for some wine tasting fun! This had a good nose with the light cabbage smell of Pinot Noirs that some people describe as smell of feet. With hints of vanilla and berries, this had more spices than a typical Pinot. Well made standard Pinot with good tannins. For more please visit http://dionyshius.blogspot.com/2012/07/russian-river-healdsburg.html


    1 2 3

    External Reviews for La Crema Pinot Noir

    External Review
    02/07/2013

    Opening with aromas of ripe, round cherry, floral notes, spicy clove and licorice, this wine has substantial cherry flavors on the palate that meld with rich plum, orange peel and tea over a mouth-watering jamminess. With balanced acidity and firm tannins, this wine has a long, and lingering finish.


    External Review
    03/10/2013

    Vivid, bright and balanced. A lovely expression of Russian River Valley Pinot Noir: aromas of black cherry and vanilla bean are joined by hints of plum, black licorice and sassafras. The palate tends toward hedonistic, with vivid blackberry, cocoa and spi


    External Review
    06/22/2010

    Aromas of ripe cherry, cocoa, anise and rich baking spices. Plush flavors of cherry, plum and pomegranate meld with hints of delicate tea leaf. Structured, balanced acidity and elegant, firm tannins round out the mouth.


    External Review
    01/15/2009

    'The 2006 Sonoma Coast Pinot Noir opens with engaging aromas of ripe, round cherry, floral notes, spicy clove and licorice. Cherry continues in the mouth, melding with rich plum, orange peel and tea leaves over a mouth-watering jamminess. Balanced acidity and firm tannins round out a long, lingering finish.' - Melissa Stackhouse, La Crema Winemaker


    External Review
    01/17/2009

    Wine Tasting NotesAnderson Valley Pinot is hugely expressive. The vintage offers delicate notes of blueberry and aromatic tea leaves, subtle hints of cocoa and rose petals. Bright acidity and red cherries create a lush juicy entry, leading to a broad, sturdy finish.


    External Review
    01/17/2009

    Wine Tasting NotesExotic aromas of black cherry, blackberry with hints of cola, black licorice and subtle dried herbs.The flavors are focused on lush dark fruit which provides an enticing plush texture. Broad tannins mixed with a lingering fruit core round out the finish.



    All Prices

    Shipping to:

    Tasting Notes:

    This wine is a blend of the best blocks this vineyard has to offer. The nose shows delicate tea leaf and blueberry notes, wrapped in supple oak spice. The broad palate is lush and rich with anisette, coffee and bramble flavors kept fresh by a classic Anderson Valley backbone of acidity.

    Notes on the La Crema Pinot Noir Russian River 2006 : WINEMAKER NOTES: Our goal is to truly capture the Russian River terroir in the glass. The 2006 vintage gave us aromas of black cherry with hints of sassafras, clove and subtle dried herbs. The flavors center on dark lush fruit and spice, which provide rich texture, broad, structured tannins and a lingering, juicy finish. - Melissa Stackhouse, La Crema WinemakerLA CREMA PINOT NOIR RUSSIAN RIVER 2006

    164 cases produced.

    Wine Specs:

    Sugar: 0.11 grams per liter Total Acidity: 0.53 grams per liter

    Best Wine Deals

    See More Deals »

    Pinot Noir Top Lists








    Snooth Media Network