Kendall-Jackson Avant Chardonnay Monterey Santa Barbara Mendocino Counties 2009

Avg Price: $17.99
PVA Finalist
3.29 5 0.5
Add
18 reviews
+My Wines

My Wines

Save in My Wines

Add to Wishlist

My Cellar

List It
Edit

Tasting Notes:

This refreshing Chardonnay bursts with intriguing layers of fresh pineapple, bright green apple, crisp Meyer lemon, j...

Read more...
  • WE: 90

    Wine Enthusiast Score

    90

    Close
  • SN: 87

    Snooth Editorial Score

    87

    Close
  • + Wine critic

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
Manor House Cellar
New York, NY (220 mi)
USD 17.99
750ml
Buy Now

Rather subdued on the nose with lots of ripe apple, pear and lime pith notes, some nuanced oak tones and a hint of mint. This is bright and rather ... Read more

Like biting into a fresh apple, this chardonnay is crisp, sweet and dry. If served in a restaurant, I'd give it a respectable nod, surely finishin... Read more

I don't understand the 3 glass rating on this wine. I am no expert, but I know a nice wine when I drink it and this was enjoyable. I had been wanti... Read more

Set your rating:
Save

Examples: Value Wine, Would Recommend, For the Cellar, Etc...

All Prices

Shipping to:

Editorial Reviews for Kendall-Jackson Avant Chardonnay Monterey Santa Barbara Mendocino Counties

Snooth User: Gregory Dal Piaz
89065205,850
3.50 5
01/30/2012

Rather subdued on the nose with lots of ripe apple, pear and lime pith notes, some nuanced oak tones and a hint of mint. This is bright and rather elegant with a fresh feel that has just enough sugar. There’s a nice vein of oak-driven spice here that adds complexity. The finish shows off the sweetness a touch more as well as the oak, but neither are obvious. I’d like to see more fruit on the finish, but all I get is some lime notes. Still, this is an attractive Chardonnay and a brilliant move by KJ to appeal to the other half of Chardonnay drinkers. 87pts


User Reviews for Kendall-Jackson Avant Chardonnay Monterey Santa Barbara Mendocino Counties

Add your review
Snooth User: Aegelis
515574294
3.00 5
11/04/2011

Like biting into a fresh apple, this chardonnay is crisp, sweet and dry. If served in a restaurant, I'd give it a respectable nod, surely finishing off the glass. Although dry for my tastes, I can understand why this could certainly be a favorite for some. A nice experience on a cool autumn eve.

User Tags:

crisp
  • sweet
  • dry
  • autumn

  • Snooth User: poconopixie
    732141175
    5.00 5
    07/25/2012

    I don't understand the 3 glass rating on this wine. I am no expert, but I know a nice wine when I drink it and this was enjoyable. I had been wanting to try this wine for a while now, and I finally took the plunge tonight. I am so sorry I waited so long. It's a warm summer night and this chilled Chardonnay was the perfect end to a perfect evening. Crisp, fruity, flavor exploding on my tongue. I was not disappointed.


    Snooth User: docrobert
    86173570
    2.50 5
    07/31/2011

    Not oaky at all. A little too overpowering at first. The fruit was too bright and crisp for my liking.


    Snooth User: ralaspech
    67839538
    4.00 5
    03/04/2011

    Despite limited use of oak, not as "lean" as the label suggests. Beautifully balanced chardonnay fruit with a little oak for balance. (On sale for $14.99 at my local grocery wine bin).


    External Reviews for Kendall-Jackson Avant Chardonnay Monterey Santa Barbara Mendocino Counties

    External Review
    01/03/2012

    A new category of Chardonnay introduced this year by Kendall-Jackson, and likely to eventually compete with its best-selling Vintnerrsquo;s Reserve. The wine is slightly sweet in pineapple, orange and vanilla honey flavors, with the crisp acidity that comes from coastal grape sourcing. The wine has better structure and is somewhat more minerally and elegant than the Vintnerrsquo;s Reserve.


    External Review
    06/22/2011

    Another new offering is K-J's 2009 Chardonnay Avant. One hundred percent estate grown, it is a blend of 64% Monterey, 35% Santa Barbara and 1% Mendocino fruit. One-third is aged and fermented in stainless steel. The wine offers aromas of orange blossoms, white currants and white peaches in a fresh, fruity, medium-bodied, refreshing, Chablis-like style.


    External Review
    01/26/2012

    This refreshing Chardonnay bursts with intriguing layers of fresh pineapple, bright green apple, crisp Meyer lemon, juicy pear and wildflowers. The wine's refreshing acidity and sleek mineral notes are balanced by a rounded mid-palate.


    External Review
    10/24/2011

    This refreshing Chardonnay bursts with intriguing layers of fresh pineapple, bright green apple, crisp Meyer lemon, juicy pear and wildflowers. The wine's refreshing acidity and sleek mineral notes are balanced by a rounded mid-palate with a long, pure fruit finish. - Winery


    External Review
    06/22/2011

    A new category of Chardonnay introduced this year by Kendall-Jackson, and likely to eventually compete with its best-selling Vintner's Reserve. The wine is slightly sweet in pineapple, orange and vanilla honey flavors, with the crisp acidity that comes from coastal grape sourcing. The wine has better structure and is somewhat more minerally and elegant than the Vintner's Reserve.


    External Review
    05/20/2011

    Kendall-Jackson Avant Chardonnay Monterey, Santa Barbara, Mendocino Counties 2009 750ML


    External Review
    04/12/2011

    Winemaker's notes: Vivid, crisp and bright - the brand new Avant Chardonnay continues the nearly three decades of pioneering distinguished varietal wines from California’s cool coastal appellations.


    1 2

    Ratings & Tags for Kendall-Jackson Avant Chardonnay Monterey Santa Barbara Mendocino Counties

    rated this wine
    3.00 5
    08/25/2011

    831366 Snooth User: fdawson
    rated this wine
    3.00 5
    05/22/2012

    835209 Snooth User: Fee Z
    rated this wine
    3.50 5
    05/07/2011

    Winemaker's Notes:

    Vivid, crisp and bright, the 2009 Kendall-Jackson Avant Chardonnay continues our nearly three decades of pioneering distinguished varietal wines from California’s cool coastal appellations. With flavors that mirror California’s fog-laden coastline, this wine achieves a balance of vibrancy and complexity through gentle whole-cluster pressing and fermentation in a combination of older oak barrels and stainless steel. The subtle use of neutral oak adds a graceful structure while cool stainless steel fermentation preserves the fresh, intense fruit flavors inherent to Chardonnay grown along the coastline.

    Tasting Notes:

    This refreshing Chardonnay bursts with intriguing layers of fresh pineapple, bright green apple, crisp Meyer lemon, juicy pear and wildflowers. The wine's refreshing acidity and sleek mineral notes are balanced by a rounded mid-palate with a long, pure fruit finish.

    Vivid, crisp and bright, the 2009 Kendall-Jackson Avant Chardonnay continues our nearly three decades of pioneering distinguished varietal wines from California’s cool coastal appellations. With flavors that mirror California’s fog-laden coastline, this wine achieves a balance of vibrancy and complexity through gentle whole-cluster pressing and fermentation in a combination of older oak barrels and stainless steel. The subtle use of neutral oak adds a graceful structure while cool stainless steel fermentation preserves the fresh, intense fruit flavors inherent to Chardonnay grown along the coastline.

    Photos

    + Add Image

    1 2

    Notes: 50% fermented in stainless steel; 50% fermented in older oak barrels.

    Chemical Analysis:

    Total Acidity: 0.64 grams per liter

    Best Wine Deals

    • $17.91
      38%off
      Sonoma Coast Vineyards Pinot Noir Sonoma Coast Bodega Ridge
      Sonoma Coast Vineyards Pinot Noir Sonoma Coast Bodega Ridge 2009
    • $31.44
      15%off
      Château Rieussec Sémillon-Sauvignon Blanc Blend Sauternes
      Château Rieussec Sémillon-Sauvignon Blanc Blend Sauternes 2010
    See More Deals »

    Chardonnay Top Lists








    Snooth Media Network