Grgich Hills Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley Estate Grown 2009

Avg Price: $54.99
PVA Nominee
3.5515254237288 5 0.5
Add
17 reviews
+My Wines

My Wines

Save in My Wines

Add to Wishlist

My Cellar

List It
Edit

Winemaker's Notes:

2009 Grgich Hills Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley 750ml

Read more...
  • There are currently no submitted critic scores.
  • + Wine critic

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
Applejack Wine & Spirits
Wheat Ridge, CO (1,700 mi)
USD 51.29
750ml
Buy Now
DSH Liquors @ Costco
Colorado Springs, CO (1,700 mi)
USD 54.39
750ml
Buy Now
See 4 more prices »

Very tight nose with aromas of currant and cassis. Anise, licorice and cassis up front on the palate. Also, flavors of blackberry. Big tannin an... Read more

Solid cab, very drinkable but didn't knock my socks off Read more

Really good. Smooth. Short finish. Fleming's. Read more

Set your rating:
Save

Examples: Value Wine, Would Recommend, For the Cellar, Etc...

All Prices

Shipping to:

User Reviews for Grgich Hills Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley Estate Grown

Add your review
Snooth User: VegasOenophile
20275912,199
4.00 5
05/18/2013

Very tight nose with aromas of currant and cassis. Anise, licorice and cassis up front on the palate. Also, flavors of blackberry. Big tannin and acid. Very tight and dry. Black plum notes, maduro tobacco, tar and ink. Definitely needs time. It's huge, tight and dark. 88 pts. 5/10/13 at winery


Snooth User: runningbear
43154581
3.50 5
Vintage: 2007 06/12/2011

Solid cab, very drinkable but didn't knock my socks off


Snooth User: roachjl
9588865
3.50 5
Vintage: 2007 11/17/2011

Really good. Smooth. Short finish. Fleming's.


Snooth User: 97mjr
339902,159
4.00 5
Vintage: 1999 03/05/2009

[Prime, LV. Heirloom tomatoes, strip steak, potatoes.] big, but balanced, fruit on the nose, root beer, tannic. Not my favorite but nice


Snooth User: EMark
8478045,648
2.50 5
Vintage: 1995 12/11/2013

Nicely red colored with, thankfully, no brownishness indicative of oxidation. A fairly big nose, although with some volatility. Not terribly forceful on entry to the palate--only moderate berry/cassis flavors. As you might expect, very mild tannin. Some tartness makes me want to eat something with this. However, this one is probably past its peak. US$33.99 at the Wine Club in Santa Ana in 1999.


External Reviews for Grgich Hills Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley Estate Grown

External Review
Source: The Wine Buyer
03/13/2013

Elegant and full bodied, the wine's complex aromas of black berries, black licorice and a hint of cocoa powder.


External Review
Source: We Speak Wine
01/21/2013

There's lots of richness to this Cabernet, a testimony to the sunny ripeness of the vintage. It bursts with flavors of cassis and blackberry and blueberry jam, complemented by the toasty, smoky butteriness of oak barrels. It's a lovely wine to drink now with upscale fare. Our Yountville vineyard forms the heart of our Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon, with our Rutherford and Calistoga vineyards rounding out the blend. This Cabernet is packed with rich aromas of black cherry, black licorice and a hint of roasted coffee. Its full body and smooth tannins make it the perfect partner with grilled steak, rack of lamb or roasted duck. - Winery


External Review
Vintage: 2008 10/11/2012

Grgich Hills Cabernet is produced from certified organic wine grapes, not an easy certification to obtain we can assure you. The 2008 Cabernet stays true to varietal character and has a healthy dose of tannic structure.


External Review
Vintage: 2008 03/29/2012

A Cabernet Sauvignon wine from California in USA. 2008 Grgich Hills Cabernet Sauvignon 750ml


External Review
Vintage: 2007 09/12/2011

All of the grapes were grown at our estate vineyards in Yountville and Rutherford and they are certified organic and Biodynamic. This is an elegant wine with rich aromas of black berries, black licorice and a hint of cocoa powder. Velvety smooth, it's the perfect partner with grilled steak, rack of lamb or roasted duck.


External Review
Vintage: 2007 09/28/2011

Bright medium red-ruby. Aromas and flavors of currant, tobacco leaf, fresh herbs, menthol and oak. The palate offers good juicy energy, with redder fruits, especially raspberry, emerging with air. Pepper and herb notes contribute definition to thi... Stephen Tanzers IWC. A Cabernet Sauvignon wine from California in USA. 2007 Grgich Hills Cabernet Sauvignon 750ml


External Review
Source: We Speak Wine
Vintage: 2007 01/03/2013

Bright medium red-ruby. Aromas and flavors of currant, tobacco leaf, fresh herbs, menthol and oak. The palate offers good juicy energy, with redder fruits, especially raspberry, emerging with air. Pepper and herb notes contribute definition to this essentially supple wine. Finishes with a fine spine of dusty tannins that will require at least six or seven years of cellaring. A savory style thats complex and layered, with firm, full-bodied notes of spice, cedar, dried berry, mineral and sage. Ends with a pleasant earthiness. Drink now through 2017. 14,540 cases made. -JL We fermented the grapes using only yeasts that naturally occur on the grapes and allowed the wine to gain flavors and color from extended skin contact. Each lot is aged separately for several months, and then blended to create a wine that is more complex than the individual parts. After blending, the wine spent another year and half in barrel to completely harmonize before bottlin...


1 2

Ratings & Tags for Grgich Hills Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley Estate Grown

825343 Snooth User: aghenry2
rated this wine
3.50 5
2007 04/21/2011

739618 Snooth User: Ghayes06
rated this wine
4.50 5
2007 01/21/2011

Winemaker's Notes:

2009 Grgich Hills Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley 750ml

2009 Grgich Hills Cellars Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley 750ml

Photos for All Vintages

+ Add Image

1 2 3 4 5  ...  10


Best Wine Deals

See More Deals »

Cabernet Sauvignon Top Lists








Snooth Media Network