Fonseca Vintage Port 2005

  • There are currently no submitted critic scores.
  • + Wine critic

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close

Realmente este porto es un gran expresión de los ruby. Acompañante ideal de un postre de fresas con chocolate! Read more

Totally black/purple in color showing wild flowers, lush violets and a mild lactic nuance on the nose. As much as I liked the 1985 this was another... Read more

Although I have had this VP only a handful of times in the past, it was the first bottle I’ve ever opened from my own cellar. Decanted for 7 hours,... Read more

Set your rating:
Save

Examples: Value Wine, Would Recommend, For the Cellar, Etc...

User Reviews for Fonseca Vintage Port

Add your review
Snooth User: CheloSpahn
1144627483
3.50 5
10/24/2012

Realmente este porto es un gran expresión de los ruby. Acompañante ideal de un postre de fresas con chocolate!


Snooth User: Roy Hersh
2857156
5.00 5
Vintage: 1994 02/06/2008

Totally black/purple in color showing wild flowers, lush violets and a mild lactic nuance on the nose. As much as I liked the 1985 this was another breed altogether. It has a more classic Fonseca structure and poise, given its decade in the bottle. Dense, chewy blackberry flavors that tail off to the plum spectrum and provide waves of juicy, ripe fruit that is filled with glycerin. This Fonseca 1994 is a tannic monster which is atypical of how this has shown in the past when I've found it more approachable. It finished with gobs of mouth filling viscous Porty flavors - and brought a smile to my face. TOP HONORS of the tasting; with twenty+ more years before it will truly offer up its best showing!


Snooth User: Roy Hersh
2857156
4.50 5
Vintage: 1992 07/16/2007

Although I have had this VP only a handful of times in the past, it was the first bottle I’ve ever opened from my own cellar. Decanted for 7 hours, and consumed over the following three. Very dark ruby in color. Scents of dark cherry, cedar and anise load the glass. Closer to medium-bodied than a heavy weight with a smooth mouthfeel that is not silky. The palate offers semi-sweet, approachable blackcurrant and plum flavors with some licorice and chocolate intertwined on the slightly spirituous but otherwise lengthy finish. Although the structure is solid the tannins are round and are only perceptible on the finish. Not the blockbuster I was expecting. This still needs five years at a minimum to have the alcohol integrate more and will really start to drink well when it hits 25 years of age, with plenty of longevity from there. Approximately $100 at retail today.


Snooth User: Magnum152
857947
5.00 5
Vintage: 1992 09/01/2008

excellent .. i like de sweet taste!


Snooth User: Robert Parker
6445403
4.50 5
Vintage: 1977 08/18/2007

Fonseca is one of the great port lodges, producing the most exotic and most complex port. If Fonseca lacks the sheer weight and power of a Taylor, Dow or Warre, or the opulent sweetness and intensity of a Graham, it excels in its magnificently complex, intense bouquet of plummy, cedary, spicy fruit and long, broad, expansive flavors. With its lush, seductive character, one might call it the Pomerol of Vintage ports. When it is young, it often loses out in blind tastings to the heavier, weightier, more tannic wines, but I always find myself upgrading my opinion of Fonseca after it has had 7-10 years of age. The 1977 has developed magnificently in the bottle, and while it clearly needs another decade to reach its summit, it is the best Fonseca since the 1970 and 1963.


Snooth User: WineWatcherUSA
33070141
5.00 5
Vintage: 1977 10/22/2007

Its a shame that I only had the opportunity to taste this legendary vintage too early - in the early 1980's. Even then it was clearly a stellar port: rich, fruity, powerful - a vintage to lay down for decades...even the next generation.


Snooth User: Roy Hersh
2857156
4.50 5
Vintage: 1977 08/18/2007

This was the grand finale on the fabulous first evening at The Woodlands at Nemacolin Resort in PA. We did not do it justice as this needs LOTS of decanting time and this was my fault, as it did not get decanted ahead and I should have mentioned that prior to our departure from Pittsburgh. Anyway, it did get nearly five hours of decanting ... but that is not enough for a youngster of this caliber, which easily handles 7-9 hours of time in decanter. It is so big and youthful, with potent tannins that come to the fore. Given the short duration of time, I was able to ignore the spirit that was present. Medium to dark ruby, this fine Fonseca showed it's muscle and grip and displayed distinct, ripe raspberry tang. The finish excelled in its length and persistence. Score: 94, which is way below the norm and this only had to do with the decanting time of this particular bottle.


1 2

External Reviews for Fonseca Vintage Port

External Review
Vintage: 2011 11/14/2013

The Fonseca 2011 is typically more forthcoming on the nose compared to the bashful Croft: a strident bouquet with lifted scents of freshly picked blackberries kirsch crushed stone and a dash of Hoi Sin and oyster sauce. It is very well-defined very focused and direct. The palate is silky smooth with not a rough edge in sight though not a typically voluptuous Fonseca because of the keen thread of acidity and the structure that lends this mighty Port wonderful backbone. A slight viscosity on the finish lacquers the tongue and indicates a core of sweet fruit is ticking away underneath that will surely explode several years after bottling. A tincture of salted licorice on the aftertaste is very attractive. This will turn out to become an outstanding Fonseca the growing season taming its exuberance with spectacular results. So much potential but just 6 000 cases were produced. Tasted May 2013. Neal Martins Wine Journal.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
Vintage: 2009 10/25/2011

Lots of grape and raisin on the nose. Full-bodied, chewy and lightly sweet. Serious concentration, with lots of grip on the finish. Just what to expect from a young Vintage port. Best after 2012.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
Vintage: 2009 10/25/2011

Fonseca vintage Ports are always among the most attractive and long-lived. This 2003 conforms magnificently to that model. It is structured, rich, powerful and opulent. There are cassis and black fig flavors, as well as sweet tannins. It is delicious already, and will remain delicious throughout its long life.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
Vintage: 2009 10/25/2011

Intensely fruity on the nose, with lots of blackberry and violet. Full-bodied and lightly sweet, with slightly astringent tannins and a medium finish. Silky. Still very tight. Needs time. Best after 2010.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
Vintage: 2009 10/25/2011

Voluptuous, warm and black, this wine follows a simple line even as it grows increasingly dynamic with air. The fruit is smooth and grapey, starting from a dark, stony scent of broken schist and then pouring out full and lithe. Smoky tannins, melding with the alcohol into a licorice ripeness, seem to brighten the finish, adding to the lift of the fruit. The natural simplicity of the balance should allow this to develop for decades.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
Vintage: 2009 10/25/2011

A young Port, with good, dark color and mineral and raspberry character. Medium- to full-bodied, with a solid core of fruit and a firm, silky finish. This is outstanding, but I expected a little more from Fronseca; not as impressive as when tasted from barrel. Best after 2006.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
Vintage: 2009 10/25/2011

In both 1992 and 1994, Fonseca was the top wine of the vintage, and now again in 1997 it is the finest wine both out of barrel and in bottle. A seamless wine that shows complex aromas of plum and spices, the structure to age effortlessly, and a lovely long finish.


1 2 3 4 5  ...  41

Ratings & Tags for Fonseca Vintage Port

rated this wine
3.00 5
2003 05/31/2008

rated this wine
3.00 5
2003 09/27/2007

rated this wine
5.00 5
2003 10/25/2007

rated this wine
4.00 5
2003 01/15/2008

35515 Snooth User: yojimbo
rated this wine
3.50 5
2003 11/23/2007

rated this wine
5.00 5
2003 09/20/2007

rated this wine
3.50 5
2003 09/21/2007

1 2 3 4 5

Photos for All Vintages

+ Add Image

1 2 3 4 5  ...  22

Closure: Cork


Best Wine Deals

  • $18.89
    33%off
    Dobbes Family Estate Pinot Noir Rogue Valley Skipper's Cuvée
    Dobbes Family Estate Pinot Noir Rogue Valley Skipper's Cuvée 2010
  • $23.69
    21%off
    Alexana Riesling Willamette Valley Revana Vineyard
    Alexana Riesling Willamette Valley Revana Vineyard 2011
See More Deals »







Snooth Media Network