Dr. Loosen Riesling Beerenauslese 2006

Avg Price: $36.00
3.98 5 0.5
Add
6 reviews
+My Wines

My Wines

Save in My Wines

Add to Wishlist

My Cellar

List It
Edit

Winemaker's Notes:

A rich, dense dessert wine made from fully botrytis-affected grapes that have shriveled about half way.

Read more...
  • W&S: 94

    Wine & Spirits Magazine Score

    94

    Close
  • WS: 93

    Wine Spectator Score

    93

    Close
  • + Wine critic

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
Premium Wine Collections Ltd
Norwich, UK (4,100 mi)
GBP 10.35
USD $
375ml
Buy Now
Sterling Cellars
Mahopac, NY (260 mi)
USD 25.99
375ml
Buy Now
See 10 more prices »

See Ernie Loosen (Weingut Dr. Loosen) in our Meet-the-Winemaker video series(#3): www.debramasterofwine.com Read more

- Tasted at Lee's Wine Experience 11/7/09 Read more

91 points. Upon first sniff I immediately felt like I had been belted across the face by a giant candy cane. The deeply saturated mint extract comp... Read more

Set your rating:
Save

Examples: Value Wine, Would Recommend, For the Cellar, Etc...

All Prices

Shipping to:

User Reviews for Dr. Loosen Riesling Beerenauslese

Add your review
Snooth User: Debra Meiburg MW
6836507,588
0.00 5
12/19/2010

See Ernie Loosen (Weingut Dr. Loosen) in our Meet-the-Winemaker video series(#3): www.debramasterofwine.com


Snooth User: VegasOenophile
20275912,199
3.50 5
11/08/2009

- Tasted at Lee's Wine Experience 11/7/09


Snooth User: Tyler Worth
497729839
3.50 5
01/13/2011

91 points. Upon first sniff I immediately felt like I had been belted across the face by a giant candy cane. The deeply saturated mint extract components on this wine are amazing, and the way that they mingle in this enveloping cocktail of petrol and dark forest green tones, it really is fascinating. I get some green orchid tones, tons of white peach, and faint leather and chemical aromas, mixed in with coffee beans and anisette all coming together in this smoky cloud of aromatic delights. This wine exists solidly in the realm of dessert wines, as the 187 ml bottle might indicate. It’s nectar sweet with that same minty chemical component meeting me at the first sip. I then pick up on a corky component (not corked in the sense of a wine that has gone bad, but like a cork board, it’s a very delicate woody quality), lots of white peach, and cream and honey tones. This wine is just brimming with complexity and the green floral tones and faint minerals are incredibly impressive. More than the complexity of the flavor profile, the thing that caught my attention most about this wine is its elegant mouthfeel. Its very rich, however its in no way syrupy or thick, and its delicate acidity allows it to glide across the palate beautifully. This is a very well done dessert style expression of Riesling and its small bottle size and price tag make it a wine that would be just as easy to schedule into the end of any meal as it is to afford. Definitely a wine worth buying. Source: What's Worth Drinking: Post #25: Pradikatswein: Exploring German Riesling ( http://whatsworthdrinking.com/2010/06/07/post-25-pradikatswein-exploring-german-riesling/ )


Ratings & Tags for Dr. Loosen Riesling Beerenauslese

217915 Snooth User: caltrop
rated this wine
5.00 5
04/16/2010

461386 Snooth User: rambleon
rated this wine
5.00 5
01/09/2011

rated this wine
4.00 5
10/17/2010

Winemaker's Notes:

A rich, dense dessert wine made from fully botrytis-affected grapes that have shriveled about half way.

A rich, dense dessert wine made from fully botrytis-affected grapes that have shriveled about half way.

Photos

+ Add Image

1 2


Best Wine Deals

See More Deals »







Snooth Media Network