• WS: 90

    Wine Spectator Score

    90

    Close
  • RP: 92

    Robert Parker Score

    92

    Close
+ Add Critic Score

Submit a Critic Score

Score:

Name of Critic:

Close

Château Chasse-Spleen Moulis En Médoc 2009

Winemaker's Notes:

Berry Bros & Rudd review: It's been a while since we genuinely enjoyed tasting Chasse-Spleen en<br/>primeur but we are delighted to report that enjoy the 2009 we did. The nose is<br/>full of ripe red and black forest fruits but with a touch of earth adding<br/>complexity. The palate is polished and sophisticated with great concentration<br/>of fruit, very fine, powdery tannins and a toasty, savoury finish. We are<br/>delighted to recommend this wine in 2009!

Member Reviews for Château Chasse-Spleen Moulis En Médoc

Add your review
Snooth User: zufrieden
2593864,609
4.00 5
10/09/2015

This little wine from that island in Medoc known as Moulis almost never disappoints a discerning taste and the 2009 is better than ever, a deep coagulated blood red colour with a nose dominated by brambleberry, wine-dipped cigar and cedar. Entry is heavy with sunken tannin, deep cassis flavours and a rich, long, satisfying finish. Although it will last through to the end of the decade, the wine is great now. Value. 90 points.


4.00 5
09/17/2012

Härdöpfuschtock in der Nase. Wunderbar nach roten Beeren, typisch Bordeaux. Super Preis-/Genussverhältnis. Überzeugt!


Snooth User: jshimkin
321717460
3.00 5
03/23/2013

Three glasses


External Reviews for Château Chasse-Spleen Moulis En Médoc

External Review
05/18/2010

1 x 5000ML Jéroboam


External Review
11/12/2013

Purpurrot, Nase und Gaumen bestechen durch Fülle, Aromen gerösteter Espressobohnen gefolgt von schwarzen Johannisbeeren und Zigarren. Hervorragende Reinheit, Textur und Tiefe.


External Review
05/18/2010

1 x 1500ML Magnum


External Review
05/18/2010

1 x 6000ML Impériale


External Review
06/30/2010

Did Lord Byron give this name to the château, swearing that there was nothing like it for ôchasser le spleenö (getting rid of the blues)? Or was it Charles Baudelaire, who is said to have come to Moulis in the 1860s because the artist Odilon Redon, who illustrated Les Fleurs du Mal, lived near the estate? Not included in the 1855 Classification, the château was listed as a Cru Bourgeois Exceptionnel in 1932, and confirmed in 2003 in recognition of its excellent quality. Bernadette Villars took over managing the estate in 1976, followed by her elder daughter, Claire, from 1992 to 1999, and her younger daughter, Céline, since 2000. Chasse-Spleen is an extraordinary wine, it is a shining example of the best its appellation can produce. The wine is deep in colour and has a concentrated, powerful bouquet. It is full-bodied on the palate, with a strong personality. An eminently attractive wine


External Review
05/18/2010

1 x 3000ML Double-Magnum


External Review
05/18/2010

1 x 375ML Half Bottle


1 2


All Prices

Shipping to:

Berry Bros & Rudd review: It's been a while since we genuinely enjoyed tasting Chasse-Spleen en<br/>primeur but we are delighted to report that enjoy the 2009 we did. The nose is<br/>full of ripe red and black forest fruits but with a touch of earth adding<br/>complexity. The palate is polished and sophisticated with great concentration<br/>of fruit, very fine, powdery tannins and a toasty, savoury finish. We are<br/>delighted to recommend this wine in 2009!

Best Wine Deals

  • $16.19
    15% off
    Concha Frontera Carmenere Chile Valle Central Rapel Colchagua Valley Red
    Concha Frontera Carmenere Chile Valle Central Rapel Colchagua Valley Red 2010
  • $23.99
    20% off
    Domaine d'Orfeuilles Vouvray Réserve d'Automne
    Domaine d'Orfeuilles Vouvray Réserve d'Automne 1997
See More Deals






Snooth Media Network