• WS: 94

    Wine Spectator Score

    94

    Close
  • ST: 92

    Stephen Tanzer Score

    92

    Close
  • WA: 93

    Wine Advocate Score

    93

    Close

Casanova di Neri Rosso di Montalcino 1999

Winemaker's Notes:

100% Sangiovese in Montalcino denominated Brunello The Brunello di Montalcino Cerretalto is produced from a selection of vineyards situated in the natural amphitheatre by the Asso river. The particular microclimate, the "terroir", the low production per vine and the great attention to detail in the winery together produce a well balanced wine with character and good alcohol content. It is only produced when we consider the quality of the grapes harvested to be excellent. It is aged for about 2 years in small oak casks and then for at least 36 months in the bottle.

  • + My Wines

    My Wines

    Save in My Wines

    Add to Wishlist

    My Cellar

  • + List It
  • + Critic Score

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
3.83 5 0.5
Average Rating Rate It Add
Casanova di Neri:
The "Fiesole" vineyard is situated opposite the farmhouse of the same name where we have our offices and winery. This is the farm's oldest vineyard, situated 350 metres north-east of Montalcino. The grapes from this vineyard are usually used to produce our Brunello di Montalcino. Nearby we find the "Poderuccio" vineyard. It is situated at 350 metres above sea-level. These grapes are also us... Read more
The "Fiesole" vineyard is situated opposite the farmhouse of the same name where we have our offices and winery. This is the farm's oldest vineyard, situated 350 metres north-east of Montalcino. The grapes from this vineyard are usually used to produce our Brunello di Montalcino. Nearby we find the "Poderuccio" vineyard. It is situated at 350 metres above sea-level. These grapes are also used to produce our Brunello di Montalcino. In 1986 we bought Cerretalto, a magical place. It is a natural amphitheatre near the Asso river at a height which varies between 250 and 300 metres above sea-level. Its position to the east of Montalcino means that it has a unique and unmistakable "Terroir". On the opposite side of Montalcino to the south-east, near Castelnuovo dell'Abate we find the "Pietradonice"vineyard. The earth, the position, the microclimate, the choice of clones, the grafting and a well organised vineyard all help to produce great grapes which improve each year. Il terreno, l'esposizione, il microclima, la scelta dei cloni, portainnesti, sesto di impianto ci stanno dando delle grandi uve ogni anno migliori. In a single word - magnificent. PLast but not least, thanks to its fine landscape and uncontaminated nature is the "Cetine" vineyard. Here we have 25 hectares facing south south-east on a magical hillside near Sant'Angelo in Colle. The thyme and other plants typical of the Mediterranean scrub and the extreme drop in temperature at night contribute to give us fruit of incredible quality. Every year this Sangiovese gives us the hope and strength to become even better. Fantastic and magic. . Read less

Member Reviews for Casanova di Neri Rosso di Montalcino

Add your review
Snooth User: kim rostan
9085830
5.00 5
12/11/2008

Five glasses


External Reviews for Casanova di Neri Rosso di Montalcino

External Review
Source: JJ Buckley Fine Wines
09/19/2010

Dark-colored and powerful, with loads of ripe fruit, licorice and jam. Full-bodied, with big, juicy tannins and lots of new wood, yet this is integrated and beautiful. Voluptuous and very long. Just makes you want to drink it Wine Spectator. A Sangiovese Grosso wine from Tuscany in Italy. 1999 Casanova di Neri Brunello di Montalcino Cerretalto 750ml


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
05/19/2011

Everything is here. Mineral, licorice, berry and meat aromas. Full-bodied, yet dense and refined. It coats your mouth, but gratifies every inch of your palate. A masterpiece. Best after 2007.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
05/19/2011

Lovely berry and cherry character with plenty of plums and lightly toasted oak. Full-bodied, with fine tannins and a fresh finish. Very fresh and exciting. Extremeley fine, long tannins. Goes on for minutes. This is always a top-notch single-vineyard wine. Best after 2005.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
01/03/2012

The 1997 Brunello di Montalcino Cru Cerretalto possesses a dark garnet color as well as a big, spicy, earthy bouquet with hints of cedar and dried herbs. Tannic and medium to full-bodied, with a saturated color in addition to sweetness and fruit in its moderately long finish, it will be at its finest between 2006ndash;2014.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
01/03/2012

Itrsquo;s hard to imagine a more concentrated, layered young Brunello, with aromas of crushed berries, treacle tart, light raisin, coffee and chocolate that follow effortlessly to the palate. Full-bodied, with chewy yet velvety tannins and a long, long finish. Develops wonderfully in the glass and grows fruitier with every minute. A great wine, with extraordinary depth. One of the greatest Brunellos of all time. Classic. Best after 2012.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
01/03/2012

The 2004 Brunello di Montalcino Cerretalto is deep and powerful in its smoke, tar, spices, scorched earth and plums. The wine has shut down quite a bit since I last tasted it a few months ago, and the refined silky tannins that were present a while back have turned decidedly virile. Still, the winersquo;s pedigree is impossible to miss, and the only thing this needs is time, probably lots of it. Pretty scents of soy, smoke and incense inform the long, elegant finish. Anticipated maturity: 2012ndash;2024. Proprietor Giacomo Neri makes some of the richest, most textured Brunello readers will come across. The house style favors a lush expression of fruit with a softness that makes the wines very appealing upon release.


External Review
Source: Premium Wine & Spirits
01/03/2012

Bright, full ruby-red, one of the darker 2004 Brunellos Irsquo;ve tasted to date. Precise aromas of cassis, licorice, bitter chocolate and nutty oak, with a suggestion of black pepper. More tangy and juicy on entry than the Tenuta Nuova and the normale, then rather imploded in the mouth, but with some mineral and floral topnotes that I donrsquo;t find today in the other wines. The most graceful and most varietally expressive of this trio, but still muscular and quite unevolved, with a powerful spine of acidity. The tannins coat the front teeth but this wine has the building sweetness to support them. This, too, will require patience and may ultimately merit an even higher score.


1 2


All Prices

Shipping to:

100% Sangiovese in Montalcino denominated Brunello The Brunello di Montalcino Cerretalto is produced from a selection of vineyards situated in the natural amphitheatre by the Asso river. The particular microclimate, the "terroir", the low production per vine and the great attention to detail in the winery together produce a well balanced wine with character and good alcohol content. It is only produced when we consider the quality of the grapes harvested to be excellent. It is aged for about 2 years in small oak casks and then for at least 36 months in the bottle.

10755 of 750 ml, 282 of 1500 ml and 36 of 3000 ml produced.

Wine Specs:

Total Acidity: 5.69 grams per liter

Best Wine Deals

See More Deals »

Sangiovese Top Lists








Snooth Media Network