Cameron Hughes Zinfandel Lot 86 Lodi 2006

3.74 5 0.5
Add
10 reviews
+My Wines

My Wines

Save in My Wines

Add to Wishlist

My Cellar

List It
Edit

Vintages

  • 2006

Add a vintage

Winemaker's Notes:

Notes: Dark, brick red wine with super spicy, huge nose of plums, blackberry, and black pepper. On the palate this wi...

Read more...
  • SN: 92

    Snooth Editorial Score

    92

    Close
  • + Wine critic

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close

Not wasting any time this opens with intensely sweet and spicy brambley fruit. In addition to the sweet/tart blackberry notes there are alluring no... Read more

smoky tobacco taste, pepper and spice. Went well with barbecue Read more

Yum. Improves as it opens up. Great wine @ 9.99 from Costco Read more

Set your rating:
Save

Examples: Value Wine, Would Recommend, For the Cellar, Etc...

Editorial Reviews for Cameron Hughes Zinfandel Lot 86 Lodi

Snooth User: Gregory Dal Piaz
89065205,646
4.50 5
11/11/2008

Not wasting any time this opens with intensely sweet and spicy brambley fruit. In addition to the sweet/tart blackberry notes there are alluring notes of cigar ash, blackberry pie and an insinuation of black pepper. In the mouth this is powerfully flavored with deep and pure dark berry fruit edged with notes of pepper and cocoa. This exhibits classic old vine structure with medium weight yet filled with furry, slightly rustic tannins that are embedded in the juicy fruit. This may be a touch uncomplicated but delivers a great Zinfandel experience, deliciously pure and rich with fine balance. 92pts


User Reviews for Cameron Hughes Zinfandel Lot 86 Lodi

Add your review
Snooth User: BobbyC10
29161585
3.50 5
07/28/2009

smoky tobacco taste, pepper and spice. Went well with barbecue


Snooth User: llbaker75
12339534
4.00 5
01/18/2009

Yum. Improves as it opens up. Great wine @ 9.99 from Costco


Snooth User: blackrockpaul
1328689
4.50 5
07/25/2009

What can I say. I bought two cases of this wine at Costco; I should have bought four or five. For the price, this is a splendid zin; it would be that at three or four times the cost. It's not quite in the "great" range; staying power is suspect, which is true of a lot of zinfandels -- they're bred for relatively quick consumption. I actively looked for this wine when I was running out, and remain disappointed that I couldn't find it at retail or straight from Cameron Hughes, which increasingly strikes me as one of the great negociants around. Well done ... and I'll miss this one.


Ratings & Tags for Cameron Hughes Zinfandel Lot 86 Lodi

rated this wine
3.00 5
12/23/2009

rated this wine
4.50 5
01/27/2009

rated this wine
3.00 5
01/27/2009

rated this wine
4.50 5
03/09/2009

rated this wine
4.00 5
12/16/2008

97892 Snooth User: dbarton
rated this wine
4.00 5
11/24/2008

Winemaker's Notes:

Notes: Dark, brick red wine with super spicy, huge nose of plums, blackberry, and black pepper. On the palate this wine is a basket of plummy red fruits, a little pomegranate, vanilla oak notes, pepper, and chocolate covered raisins. As this powerfully structured zinfandel opens up it gains additional complexity with tobacco and sweet cigar smoke notes. Despite two years in barrel, this zin is just a baby and will continue to improve in the bottle for many years to come. Cameron Confidential: I got a phone call last spring that the new owners of a particular mid-sized, super/ultra-premium winery with facilities around the state had decided to “rightsize” their wine portfolio. Having spent large dollar amounts on rapid growth what the business calls “spifs” and “the vig” (promotional dollars), a sharp auditor recommended that by simply cutting the production in half, you could get rid of the “spifs” and return the winery to profitability and a pathway to more organic growth. We were invited in to go hog-wild in the Lodi facility and, like a kid in a candy store, winemaker David came up no less than 5 different wines with new blends coming all the time. The winery we purchased these from is a unique operation preferring to make a variety of “component wines” from various vineyards and varietals and then blending upwards of 40 different wines per year from those components. There is not tank larger than 8,000 gallons in the winery to facilitate this sort of small Lot winemaking and the guy who assembles the final blends is truly a master making a range of wines from $250 a bottle Napa Cabs to $18 a bottle California red blends. Sister wines include our Lot 89 Lodi Syrah and Lot 90 Lodi Tannat – also exceptional values. The Lodi Zinfandel we have sourced here is exactly ½ of their 2006 top-end bottle blend zin they price at $30 a bottle in stores around the country. We souped it up even more with a good dollop of smokin’ Russian River petite sirah, fleshing and stretching out the wine to carry the ultra-plump Lodi fruit. QUITE SIMPLY THE BEST ZINFANDEL WE HAVE EVER PRODUCED.

Notes: Dark, brick red wine with super spicy, huge nose of plums, blackberry, and black pepper. On the palate this wine is a basket of plummy red fruits, a little pomegranate, vanilla oak notes, pepper, and chocolate covered raisins. As this powerfully structured zinfandel opens up it gains additional complexity with tobacco and sweet cigar smoke notes. Despite two years in barrel, this zin is just a baby and will continue to improve in the bottle for many years to come. Cameron Confidential: I got a phone call last spring that the new owners of a particular mid-sized, super/ultra-premium winery with facilities around the state had decided to “rightsize” their wine portfolio. Having spent large dollar amounts on rapid growth what the business calls “spifs” and “the vig” (promotional dollars), a sharp auditor recommended that by simply cutting the production in half, you could get rid of the “spifs” and return the winery to profitability and a pathway to more organic growth. We were invited in to go hog-wild in the Lodi facility and, like a kid in a candy store, winemaker David came up no less than 5 different wines with new blends coming all the time. The winery we purchased these from is a unique operation preferring to make a variety of “component wines” from various vineyards and varietals and then blending upwards of 40 different wines per year from those components. There is not tank larger than 8,000 gallons in the winery to facilitate this sort of small Lot winemaking and the guy who assembles the final blends is truly a master making a range of wines from $250 a bottle Napa Cabs to $18 a bottle California red blends. Sister wines include our Lot 89 Lodi Syrah and Lot 90 Lodi Tannat – also exceptional values. The Lodi Zinfandel we have sourced here is exactly ½ of their 2006 top-end bottle blend zin they price at $30 a bottle in stores around the country. We souped it up even more with a good dollop of smokin’ Russian River petite sirah, fleshing and stretching out the wine to carry the ultra-plump Lodi fruit. QUITE SIMPLY THE BEST ZINFANDEL WE HAVE EVER PRODUCED.

Photos for All Vintages

+ Add Image

Best Wine Deals

See More Deals »

Zinfandel Top Lists








Snooth Media Network