• W&S: 87

    Wine & Spirits Magazine Score

    87

    Close
wineshop24 CHF 12.80 750ml
USD $

Bodegas Juan Gil Monastrell Jumilla 2006

Winemaker's Notes:

[91 pts Robert Parker]: A serious effort Juan Gil is fashioned from 45-year-old Mourvedre vines and is aged for 12 months in American and French oak. This rich full-bodied inky/purple-tinged cuvee exhibits aromas of scorched earth blueberries licorice and pepper a savory layered texture and remarkable opulence for a Mourvedre. Drink it over the next 3-4 years. (Robert Parker also gave the 2002 and 2003 vintages 91 pts respectively.)

  • + My Wines

    My Wines

    Save in My Wines

    Add to Wishlist

    My Cellar

  • + List It
  • + Critic Score

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
3.78 5 0.5
Average Rating Rate It Add
Bodegas Juan Gil:
Juan Gil winery is located in the heart of the vineyard, in the north hillside De Cerezo which belongs to the property. This mountain, which is covered in trees, shelters the back of the installations, the rest is surrounded by vineyards. In this shady place, the cellar is protected from the heat of the area. The uneven land is also adapted to the needs in order to prevent damaging the good qua... Read more
Juan Gil winery is located in the heart of the vineyard, in the north hillside De Cerezo which belongs to the property. This mountain, which is covered in trees, shelters the back of the installations, the rest is surrounded by vineyards. In this shady place, the cellar is protected from the heat of the area. The uneven land is also adapted to the needs in order to prevent damaging the good quality of the grapes. The installations are designed by the winery staff, trying to combine the most modern technologies with the traditional and familiar winemaking processes. They are provided with authomatic systems which can obtain all the information to have traceability of the whole bottling process -not only elaboration but also internal changes- from the vineyards to the customers. The processing capacity of the winery is three and a half million kg of grapes. All the buldings are air-conditioned. The aging cellar has a capacity of 3000 oak casks. The laboratory equipment is ready to carry out all the necessary quality controls to guarantee the consumers`health. Read less

Member Reviews for Bodegas Juan Gil Monastrell Jumilla

Add your review
Snooth User: InWineTruth
2201061,634
4.00 5
12/19/2012

Opaque purple ink hue, aromas of black fruits and violets; flavor notes of blueberry, boysenberry, candied black cherry and smoke integrated across a broad palate to a silky finish. The Monastrell Bomb!


Snooth User: Toddler
8903777
4.00 5
04/24/2009

Inky purple in the glass. Black cherry, smoke, licorice, tobacco, and more. Medium bodied, but then come the tannins: firm, full and well integrated. Yum. Consistently a great wine at an even better price.


Snooth User: tomam17
31021324
5.00 5
11/26/2009

Big, bold, red berries on the nose, deep ruby in color. Velvety mouthfeel. Balanced ripe berries to start, hint of oak and tobacco mid palate. Finish is a perfect balance of ripe berries and moderate tannins. Purchased this on sale at Cost Plus for $10. An absolute steal at that price... would happily pay 3x that amount. Cellaring 3 bottles now.


Snooth User: Amanda Schuster
8703411,975
5.00 5
09/01/2011

This was my "gateway" wine in many ways. The first time I realized I was tasting something other than just grape juice. The first time I learned what Monastrell (Mourvedre was and what it's capable of). It's dark, velvety, smooth, seductive. It's the Barry White's voice of wines. Deep berry fruits, black olives, dark chocolate. Fantastic with fall and winter roasts, cheeses or vegetable dishes with a lot of peppers. Haven't had a vintage so far. Plus the pretty silver label makes it very presentable for a gift. Great value.


Snooth User: jamessulis
4262201,500
4.00 5
06/18/2010

Excellent wine, berry flavors with a very strong smoky finish that lasts a long time. Loved it


Snooth User: jamessulis
4262201,500
3.00 5
04/25/2010

I'm a newbie when it comes to discerning the various flavors but I surprised myself when I tasted this wine. I really tasted deep berry flavors, oak, a light taste of pepper and an unbelieveably strong smokey taste. Wow to think that I've been missing these sensations prior to belonging to Snooth.............God Bless America and Juan Gil Jumilla Red Monastrell


Snooth User: barri0s1872
802761,433
4.00 5
02/07/2009

really great monastrell; intense with a slightly inky texture and a nice mix of rustic, earthy and tannic taste that's partnered with bold dark fruit


1 2 3

External Reviews for Bodegas Juan Gil Monastrell Jumilla

External Review
12/13/2008

This purple-colored wine offers superb aromatics of wood smoke, damp earth, violets, and blueberry pie. Layered, succulent, and long, it will evolve for another 2-3 years and be at its best from 2010 to 2018.


External Review
03/05/2009

Made of 100% Monastrell (a.k.a. Mourvèdre) in the Jumilla region of Spain, the fruit for this wine comes from old vines grown in chalky limestone. A rich, smoky, deep red, this wine pairs perfectly with slow-roasted meats.


External Review
11/25/2009

ST: 90 Points


External Review
04/30/2010

Juan Gil 2006 and all other wine from Juan Gil are available for immediate delivery and discounted prices from CheaperCigars.com. We also carry wide variety of wine from Spain and across the globe.


External Review
03/19/2009

Is it possible for a wine to get better every year?


External Review
07/11/2007

This 100% Monastrell (a.k.a. MourvŠdre in France) bottling from the Jumilla region of Spain comes from old vines grown in chalky limestone. A rich, smoky deep red, this wine pairs perfectly with slow roasted meats on those cold winter nights.



All Prices

Shipping to:

[91 pts Robert Parker]: A serious effort Juan Gil is fashioned from 45-year-old Mourvedre vines and is aged for 12 months in American and French oak. This rich full-bodied inky/purple-tinged cuvee exhibits aromas of scorched earth blueberries licorice and pepper a savory layered texture and remarkable opulence for a Mourvedre. Drink it over the next 3-4 years. (Robert Parker also gave the 2002 and 2003 vintages 91 pts respectively.)

Best Wine Deals

  • $23.99
    20%off
    Concha Y Toro Syrah Marques de Casa Concha
    Concha Y Toro Syrah Marques de Casa Concha 2004
  • $21.99
    20%off
    Newton Chardonnay Red Label United States California Napa County Napa Valley White
    Newton Chardonnay Red Label United States California Napa County Napa Valley White 2008
See More Deals »







Snooth Media Network