Bodegas Dinastia Vivanco Rioja Seleccion de Familia Crianza 2008

Member Review by jweaving:

I was a little apprehensive to purchase a wine so inexpensive; however, this is by far better than any of the Rioja's I had had during my stay in Spain this past summer. Well rounded, smooth, and a good balance of berries and acidity.

Add winemaker's notes
Region: Spain » Rioja » Rioja Alavesa

Vintages


+ Vintage
Color: Red
Varietal: tempranillo
  • + My Wines

    My Wines

    Save in My Wines

    Add to Wishlist

    My Cellar

  • + List It
  • + Critic Score

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
3.63 5 0.5
Average Rating Rate It Add
Dinastia Vivanco:
The origins of the winemaking vocation of the Vivanco family date back to the year 1915; to the winemaking district of the village of Alberite, La Rioja, where Pedro Vivanco Gonzalez started to make wine for family use from his vineyards. In 1940 he bought a small wine cellar business in the same village. A curious caption had been carved over the door of that cellar reading: “he who walks by and is thirsty, if the door is, should enter and drink”.

Member Reviews for Bodegas Dinastia Vivanco Rioja Seleccion de Familia Crianza

Add your review
Snooth User: jweaving
217929144
4.50 5
04/04/2012

I was a little apprehensive to purchase a wine so inexpensive; however, this is by far better than any of the Rioja's I had had during my stay in Spain this past summer. Well rounded, smooth, and a good balance of berries and acidity.

User Tags:

rioja
  • tempranillo

  • Snooth User: Jlvan729
    86545438
    0.00 5
    01/29/2013

    Almacen del vino $15.44


    Snooth User: murby
    118391430
    4.00 5
    02/03/2013

    Smooth and full taste. Pairs well with red meat.


    Snooth User: mk2000
    1393847111
    3.50 5
    11/16/2013

    Three and a half glasses


    External Reviews for Bodegas Dinastia Vivanco Rioja Seleccion de Familia Crianza

    External Review
    Source: We Speak Wine
    01/03/2013

    Velvety and voluptuous, this generous red delivers plum, blackberry, chocolate and toast flavors, with broad, soft tannins and just enough acidity to stay lively. The finish is graceful. Drink now through 2016. 55,000 cases made. -TM - Top 100 2011 The 2008 Dinastia Vivanco Crianza is made from 100% Tempranillo and aged for 16 months in French and American oak. Balsam wood, tobacco, cinnamon, clove, violets, and black fruit aromas lead to a ripe, sweetly-fruited, nicely proportioned Crianza that is likely to blossom for another 1-2 years and drink well through 2020. The bouquet consists of mature red berries, with hints of smoke, vanilla, and spice. Well-structured in the mouth, this Crianza is expressive and meaty and possesses a good balance of red fruit and toasted flavors. The tannins are mature and lead to an elegant, long finish. While this wine can be enjoyed now, it will also keep for 5-10 years. - Winery


    External Review
    Source: We Speak Wine
    02/06/2014

    Velvety and voluptuous, this generous red delivers plum, blackberry, chocolate and toast flavors, with broad, soft tannins and just enough acidity to stay lively. The finish is graceful. Drink now through 2016. 55,000 cases made. -TM - Top 100 2011 The 2008 Dinastia Vivanco Crianza is made from 100% Tempranillo and aged for 16 months in French and American oak. Balsam wood, tobacco, cinnamon, clove, violets, and black fruit aromas lead to a ripe, sweetly-fruited, nicely proportioned Crianza that is likely to blossom for another 1-2 years and drink well through 2020. The bouquet consists of mature red berries, with hints of smoke, vanilla, and spice. Well-structured in the mouth, this Crianza is expressive and meaty and possesses a good balance of red fruit and toasted flavors. The tannins are mature and lead to an elegant, long finish. While this wine can be enjoyed now, it will also keep for 5-10 years. - Winery ** SOLD OUT **




    Recipe Downloader

    RiceSelect

    Best Wine Deals

    • $19.99
      30%off
      Louis Jadot Savigny les Beaune les Narbantons
      Louis Jadot Savigny les Beaune les Narbantons 2012
    • $21.99
      20%off
      Newton Chardonnay Red Label United States California Napa County Napa Valley White
      Newton Chardonnay Red Label United States California Napa County Napa Valley White 2008
    See More Deals »

    Tempranillo Top Lists








    Snooth Media Network