• WS: 89

    Wine Spectator Score

    89

    Close

Bodega del Abad Godello Bierzo Abad Dom Bueno 2007

Member Review by WineFlair:

Lush, mineral-y, grapefruity wine made from head-pruned old vines, some of which are 70-80 years old. This is a rare wine in Bierzo, with less than 1% of the vines under cultivation. An outstanding effort - using only native yeast - and the 2008 is even better.

Add winemaker's notes
Region: Spain » Bierzo

Vintages

  • 2007

+ Vintage
Winery: Bodega del Abad
Color: White
Varietal: Godello
  • + My Wines

    My Wines

    Save in My Wines

    Add to Wishlist

    My Cellar

  • + List It
  • + Critic Score

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
3.24 5 0.5
Average Rating Rate It Add

Member Reviews for Bodega del Abad Godello Bierzo Abad Dom Bueno

Add your review
Snooth User: WineFlair
146408156
3.50 5
10/08/2009

Lush, mineral-y, grapefruity wine made from head-pruned old vines, some of which are 70-80 years old. This is a rare wine in Bierzo, with less than 1% of the vines under cultivation. An outstanding effort - using only native yeast - and the 2008 is even better.


Snooth User: SetarconeX
10744993
4.00 5
01/24/2009

Light and citric. Very low acidity. A tasty little table wine.


Snooth User: tommyvino
9713492
1.00 5
03/11/2009

A very fresh somewhat austere nose of ripe pear, honey suckle, and fresh herbs. The palate has juicy stone fruit, limy minerality, and little herbaceous on the finish. Medium to full bodied, spicy bright acidity, dry, and a medium long finish. The texture of this wine is a little rough which I consider a good trait, sometimes wines are too polished and lack character. This wine was just recently bottled so I look forward the continuing evolution that lies ahead. 3/5


Snooth User: Jcardinell
16589143
5.00 5
04/15/2009

A very fresh tasting wine with no sulfites added (a big plus in white wines!!!). Medium yellow color. The nose is aromatic with white peach, nectarine, and honeysuckle. The palate has lots of flavors of stone fruit, almond skin, and ripe pears. This wine is dry, medium heavy bodied, with bright acidity, and a long finish.


Snooth User: hipwine
82297129
4.00 5
06/20/2009

Four glasses


External Reviews for Bodega del Abad Godello Bierzo Abad Dom Bueno

External Review
01/04/2012

Although the aroma is restrained, the palate is generous and creamy with ripe peach and apple flavors. For roast chicken.


External Review
Source: Prestige Wine & Spirits
05/19/2011

[No tasting note was given.]


External Review
Source: Prestige Wine & Spirits
05/19/2011

This Spanish white delivers pear, mineral, grapefruit and light earth flavors framed by smoky and herbal notes, backed by sharp acidity that keeps the thick texture lively and focused. Drink through 2009.


External Review
Source: Prestige Wine & Spirits
05/19/2011

Distinctive and assertive, this firm white shows pear and herb flavors, with mineral and leesy notes that add complexity. Quite rich, but a hint of spritz keeps it lively. Drink now.


External Review
Source: Prestige Wine & Spirits
05/19/2011

Put a little adventure into your wine with this refreshing Godello. From the Bierzo region in Spain, this aromatic wine is full of lush pineapple and green apple notes, polished off with crisp acidity. The strong mineral notes give this fun wine its depth. After the first sip, you'll be spelling it "good-ello."


External Review
Source: Astor Wines & Spirits
05/28/2009

We love Godello! We love this white grape for its dry, clean minerality, for its citus and pear-skin fruit flavors. We love Godello for its ability to call to mind a babbling mountain stream, and to make us hunger for freshly caught seafood. We love this particular Godello for its perfect ripeness and its fresh, unoaked appeal.



Photos

+ Add Image

Recipe Downloader

RiceSelect

Best Wine Deals

  • $15.39
    23%off
    Terroir Al Limit Arbossar Subskription Spanien D.o.c. Priorat Terroir Al Limit Rotwein Trocken Garnacha Und Cariñena Alten Rebstöcken
    Terroir Al Limit Arbossar Subskription Spanien D.o.c. Priorat Terroir Al Limit Rotwein Trocken Garnacha Und Cariñena Alten Rebstöcken 2008
  • $22.99
    28%off
    Artadi Viñas de Gain #
    Artadi Viñas de Gain # 2005
See More Deals »







Snooth Media Network