Blackstone Winery Cabernet Sauvignon Sonoma Reserve 2009

Avg Price: $16.99
PVA Nominee
3.2468571428571 5 0.5
Add
30 reviews
+My Wines

My Wines

Save in My Wines

Add to Wishlist

My Cellar

List It
Edit

Winemaker's Notes:

Our Sonoma Reserve wines highlight the best of Sonoma County's diverse growing regions. Carefully selected to showcas...

Read more...
  • There are currently no submitted critic scores.
  • + Wine critic

    Submit a Critic Score

    Score:

    Name of Critic:

    Close
Amity Wines
New Haven, CT (2,500 mi)
USD 20.13
750ml
Buy Now
BevMo! La Quinta
La Quinta, CA (1,000 mi)
USD 19.99 $19.99
750ml
In Store Only
See 2 more prices »

Purple fruit, earth, marzipan, and white pepper greet the nose, followed by well-judged toasty oak, subtle herb tones and a hint of bitter medicina... Read more

On the nose this comes across as pretty fruity at first but slowly elements of tomato leaf, tobacco, briary wood, and toasty marshmallow oak add de... Read more

Medicinal, hot, traces of candy liqueur, strawberry jam, and cedar, with floral notes and blueberry honey. Read more

Set your rating:
Save

Examples: Value Wine, Would Recommend, For the Cellar, Etc...

All Prices

Shipping to:
BevMo! La Quinta
La Quinta, CA (1,000 mi)
$19.99 750ml USD 19.99
Beverages & more!
Multiple Locations
$19.99 750ml USD 19.99
BevMo
Multiple Locations
$19.99 750ml USD 19.99

Editorial Reviews for Blackstone Winery Cabernet Sauvignon Sonoma Reserve

Snooth User: Gregory Dal Piaz
89065204,312
4.00 5
Vintage: 2007 05/06/2010

Purple fruit, earth, marzipan, and white pepper greet the nose, followed by well-judged toasty oak, subtle herb tones and a hint of bitter medicinal root aromas. There is a distinct, almost Dr. pepper quality to the nose here. This is slightly closed on entry but with really nice balance. It’s a rich wine but well focused with slow to emerge inner mouth perfumes of black currant, mocha, and candy licorice. The acidity is very finely balanced, keeping this lively but not poking out at all and the tannins are very finely polished. The black fruit powers through on the long finish which shows touches of licorice, spice, smoky dried meats and bitter red fruit. With a lovely texture, good complexity and fine depth of flavor this compares favorably with wines twice the price. 90pts


Snooth User: Gregory Dal Piaz
89065204,312
3.50 5
Vintage: 2007 05/06/2010

On the nose this comes across as pretty fruity at first but slowly elements of tomato leaf, tobacco, briary wood, and toasty marshmallow oak add detail to the jammy blackberry fruit. This is almost silky at first, seamless, and smooth, but the tannins, just a bit fuzzy, quickly give this some mouth grab on the mid-palate. There are smoky nuances and a touch of liquory cassis fruit on the mid-palate with integrated notes of baking spices and a touch of coconut that led to a smooth, soft, slightly spicy finish. The tannins build slowly on the finish here, which also shows a bit more vanilla with air, but this is the sort of slightly rugged yet suave wine that many people are looking for. 88pts


User Reviews for Blackstone Winery Cabernet Sauvignon Sonoma Reserve

Add your review
Snooth User: Chris Carpita
330935,528
3.50 5
Vintage: 2007 06/24/2009

Medicinal, hot, traces of candy liqueur, strawberry jam, and cedar, with floral notes and blueberry honey.


Snooth User: Chris Carpita
330935,528
4.00 5
Vintage: 2007 05/06/2010

For my second tasting, almost a year later, I get less of the medicinal quality, but it's still noticeable. The fruits were spot-on before, and I'm perceiving more chocolate and tobacco elements this go-around. Also cinnamon and nutmeg. It's a bit too alcoholic for me, but otherwise excellent.


Snooth User: troyconquer
156663458
4.00 5
Vintage: 2007 06/24/2009

Luscious ripe dark fruits on the nose. Maybe a hint of spice. Pow! Tannic at first tasted. Hot. Some spice.


3.50 5
Vintage: 2007 05/06/2010

Sage and maple on the nose. Very nice. Dry and earthy, with good blackberry and a bit of tar on the finish. A nice clean wine, with a bit of sweetness and a creamy finish.


3.00 5
Vintage: 2007 05/06/2010

Tobacco leaves and plum aromas with a bit of pencil shavings. Flavors are tart and acidic, well balanced with good blackberry fruit, leather and a medium finish.


Snooth User: Chris Carpita
330935,528
4.00 5
Vintage: 2007 05/06/2010

Lots of alcohol on the nose, and peppery, with nutmeg and tea leaf. Charred oak toward the finish of the aroma. The mouth is rich, well balanced, and complexed, with smoked meat and blackberry. If you like bolder wines, I recommend it.


Snooth User: solomania9
63312,960
4.00 5
Vintage: 2007 05/06/2010

A cacophony of wonderful flavors - like all the instruments in the orchestra maxing out at once. Overall it's an oaky sweet complex tart refined black cherry overture. And it's fine by me.


1 2 3

External Reviews for Blackstone Winery Cabernet Sauvignon Sonoma Reserve

External Review
Source: The Wine Buyer
02/06/2013

This Cabernet Sauvignon is full of ripe flavors and soft round textures with notes of plum, cassis, cigar box, and vanilla. Oak aging contributes toasty spice overtones and plenty of smooth weight to the wine.


External Review
Vintage: 2006 11/25/2008

Sonoma Harvest Fair 2008 - Silver Medal


Ratings & Tags for Blackstone Winery Cabernet Sauvignon Sonoma Reserve

732913 Snooth User: Shinies
rated this wine
2.00 5
2007 04/07/2011

465635 Snooth User: Vancelot
rated this wine
2.00 5
2007 09/15/2010

691803 Snooth User: tizz0dd
rated this wine
3.00 5
2007 12/22/2010

rated this wine
3.50 5
2006 08/16/2011

102381 Snooth User: scruffy
rated this wine
5.00 5
2006 11/30/2008

176822 Snooth User: diphi15
rated this wine
3.00 5
2006 05/07/2009

684950 Snooth User: rolfie
rated this wine
3.00 5
2006 12/20/2010

1 2

Winemaker's Notes:

Our Sonoma Reserve wines highlight the best of Sonoma County's diverse growing regions. Carefully selected to showcase the wide range of microclimates and soil types found in our own backyard, they represent the finest vineyards found in the mountains, valleys and along the coast. These elegant wines set a standard for high quality, uncompromising flavor and well-balanced structure: rich fruit aromas, an elegant, silky finish, and soft tannins, and a style that is unmistakably Blackstone.

Our Sonoma Reserve wines highlight the best of Sonoma County's diverse growing regions. Carefully selected to showcase the wide range of microclimates and soil types found in our own backyard, they represent the finest vineyards found in the mountains, valleys and along the coast. These elegant wines set a standard for high quality, uncompromising flavor and well-balanced structure: rich fruit aromas, an elegant, silky finish, and soft tannins, and a style that is unmistakably Blackstone.

Photos for All Vintages

+ Add Image

1 2 3 4


Best Wine Deals

See More Deals »

Cabernet Sauvignon Top Lists








Snooth Media Network