Wine Talk

Snooth User: peitsche

2009 futures

Posted by peitsche, Aug 12, 2010.

my daughter was born last November and I want to put together a nice selection of quality wine that is likely to still taste good 20-25 years from now. I am going to buy some (red) Bourdeaux futures with a couple of friends and they are doing some research on what to get in the $100/bottle range. I am wondering what other reds or whites I should consider when looking for other varities that can be enjoyed at special occasions many years from now. I am a newb but willing to learn...;-) thanks!

Replies

Reply by peitsche, Aug 12, 2010.

btw, I saw the other thread about birth year bottles but I thought because of the different vintages (95 and 97 vs. 2009), I would get away with a new thread. If not, tell me so and I will ask my question in that other thread.

Reply by gregt, Aug 12, 2010.

Beaujolais and the Loire. And you don't have to buy futures for those - just buy the wine, taste it, and if you like it, buy more.  With Bordeaux, I'd just wait.  I don't think you gain much from futures financially.

Reply by dmcker, Aug 12, 2010.

So Greg, what Beaujolais labels do you think will be good in 25-30 years?

Reply by MReff, Aug 12, 2010.

Cannot go wrong with Rdige Monte Bello, I picked up a 6 pack from them in 08 for my son.

Reply by peitsche, Aug 12, 2010.

Greg, I know that it might not make sense financially to buy the Bordeaux futures. But I like the idea of ordering something that won't arrive for another two years or so. ;-)

MReff, I thought the 2008 won't be shipped until next year?

Reply by dmcker, Aug 12, 2010.