Description 1 of 2

The Niederösterreich region of Austria (meaning lower Austria) is the country's largest wine-growing area, including eight specific wine growing regions. The regions include: Wachau, Carnuntum, Kremstal DAC, Kamptal DAC , Thermenregion, Wagram, Traisental DAC, and Weinvertel DAC. The region has three major climactic zones: The Weinvertel, the region along the Danube river with adjoining valleys west of Vienna and a warmer, Pannonian climate in the south-east of the Niederösterreich. Gruener Veltliner is the most widely grown grape of the region accounting for 44% of the area's production, but Riesling, Roter Veltliner and other white varietals are very prominent here as well. Red varieties such as Pinot Noir, Zweigelt and Blaufränkisch are more popular in the areas closest to Burgenland such as Carnuntum. – Description from Constance Chamberlain

Back to top

Description 2 of 2

The Niederosterreich is the preeminent wine-producing region in Austria. It produces more than two-thirds of the country’s vinous output and contains the most prestigious winemaking areas in the country. It is known for its Gruner Veltliners and Rieslings in particular. Though plenty of easy-drinking, casual wines are produced, the Niederosterreich is the source of Austria’s most gorgeous, complex, and ageworthy ones as well. Its subregions are Carnuntum, Donauland, Kremstal, Thermenregion, Traisental, Wachau, Weinviertel, and Kamptal. Though they all get their best results with the same two grape varieties, these subregions are home to a diverse array of terroirs. Loess soils result in lush, decadent, aromatic Gruner; primary rock gives leaner wines. There are many other variations besides. Probably the most renowned region is the Wachau, followed by Kremstal and Kamptal.

– Description from juliabutareva

Back to top

« Back to Niederösterreich Overview

View larger map

Best Wine Deals

See More Deals

Recent Forum PostsView all

Niederösterreich wine ratings and reviews

Snooth Media Network